Rotary Club of Upper Eden
Sunday 3rd June 2018


Run or walk on Cumbrian Fells

23, 11.5 or 6.5 miles
Official Yomp Sponsor

Yomp 2009 Report

The Club were delighted to hold another successful event thanks to the kind assistance of many volunteers and the generous sponsorship of Messrs Hewitson & Harker, Solicitors, Kirkby Stephen.

Alex Birtles, a partner with Hewitson & Harker, and chair of Kirkby Stephen Parish Council, followed up his win of the Full 23 mile Yomp in 2008 by taking the Faraday Shield for the fastest runner on the Half 11.5 mile Yomp this year, in an equal course record time of 1 hour 38.

Following a cold spell, with snow covering much of the course on Friday evening, conditions improved and the going was good, though a strong cross wind tested many of the competitors. This year saw the return of Peter Brittleton to claim the Wild Boar Cup for fastest on the Full Yomp, time 3 hours 13. Jayne Bland took the Mallerstang Cup and Nateby Trophy, being the fastest lady on the course in 4 hours 36. The Veterans Cup went to G Nicholson in 4 hours 52.

Ross Urry was the fastest male under 16 on the full course, while Claire Huck and Frances Leach tied as fastest females under 16. We were pleased to welcome the return of regular services teams, being represented by 110 Squadron RLC – their A Team taking the Warcop Cup. The Lancaster University Volunteer Reserve team B gained the Roman Fell Cup.

On the Half Yomp, Catering Support Regiment once again fielded a strong team on the 11.5 mile course and team members D Waterhouse, I P Williamson and D Redwood lifted the Kirkby Stephen Trophy yet again. Local Pauline Tyson took the Nine Standards Cup as the fastest lady on the course, 2 hours 12, and Patrick Hanna shaved another minute of his previous course record for the under 16’s claiming the Tailbridge Trophy in just 1 hr 52. Tessa Higgs, Bethany Edmundson and Amy Davis yomped home together as The Good, The Bad and The Ugly, (not necessarily in that order!), to jointly claim the under 16’s Dalefoot trophy for fastest female. The Fletcher Hill Trophy for the fastest vet on this course went to M Knight, 2 hours 20.

A new trophy, the Pendragon Cup for the fastest Primary School team on the Short Yomp was kindly donated by Pendragon Vets Ltd, and was won by Long Marton School. Fastest under 12 was Ben Andrew and fastest female under 12 Hannah Andrew. Fastest on the course were Connor Ladhams and Ben Walsh in 1 hour 24, both under 16, and Keeley Edmundson and Leanne Cooper took the under 16’s female medals in 1 hour 35. Adult medal winners were Angela Dargue, Jeanette Cooper, Bruce Corrie and John Andrew.

Cumbria Classic Coaches kindly provided a vintage double decker bus to take participants on the Short Yomp to their starting point on the limestone plateau below Nine Standards.

Main charities to benefit from the charitable proceeds this year are National Lifeboats, Eden Valley Hospice and Eden Mencap. We also recognise the valuable help on the day provided by St John’s Ambulance, Air Training Corps, and Kirkby Stephen Mountain Rescue.