Rotary Club of Upper Eden
Sunday 3rd June 2018


Run or walk on Cumbrian Fells

23, 11.5 or 6.5 miles
Official Yomp Sponsor

Yomp Mountain Challenge 2016 - Report

Sunday 5th June 2016 dawned bright, clear and warm, and after weeks of dry weather the fells were in the driest conditions ever. Quite a contrast to days of cold cloud and rain in previous years! As the day wore on it became much hotter – the hottest day of the year in fact, causing problems to some competitors, especially those on the full 23 mile circuit of the Mallerstang watershed. It was undoubtedly the heat that caused 14 of these competitors to retire or be timed out.

Nevertheless 133 competitors completed the Full Course. First home was Gareth Briggs, Dark Peak Runners, in 3:17:44 (Wild Boar Cup). The Swarth Fell Trophy for fastest local runner went to Jack Eyre (2nd) of Eden Runners in 3:30:27. Fastest woman was Helen Mavin, 4:46:41 (Mallerstang Cup). The 9 Standards Veterans Over 60 Cup winner was Mike McKenna in 3:47:10. The Aisgill Summit Trophy for fastest team went to Eden Runners, their team of 3 recording a combined time of 13:26 (Jack Eyre, Craig Barker, Jonathan Toomes).

Runners in the half-yomp (11 miles) were somewhat down this year at 105, but all 105 completed the course. Fastest time went to  Paul Neild, Bowland Fell Runners, in 1:31:35 (Faraday Shield). Nine Standards Trophy for fastest female: Joanne Hackett, Staffordshire Moorlands, 2:13:05. The Fletcher Hill Trophy for fastest Over-60 veteran went to Alan Jackson, Howgill Harriers, 2:00:24. The Under 16 awards went to Isaac Robinson (Howgill Harriers) – The Tailbridge Trophy – in 2:28:49, and Alice Fawcett – the Dalefoot Trophy – in 3:08:54. The Kirkby Stephen Trophy for fastest team went to The Howgill Harriers trio of Martin Spooner, Jack Woolton and Robert Crawford in a combined time of 5:16.

Winner of the Short 6.5 mile Yomp was Paul Andrew Corncock in 00:43:36. Close behind were the fastest boys in the under 12 and under 16 classes respectively: Alistair Barr 55:56 and Jake Higginbottom in 54:54. As under 16’s have to be accompanied by an adult it should be recorded that Alan Barr was second adult home in 57:04. He then returned to the start, and completed the Short Course for a second time with his younger son, Liam, in just over an hour and ten minutes!!

Fastest female was Andrea Dixon in 59:47. First Under-12 girl was Martha Bainbridge 1:11:46. The first under 16 home was Madeline Bland of Kirkby Stephen Grammar School in 1:28:14.

Team prize for the Short Yomp went to Kirkby Stephen Primary School, their first three runners, Alistair Barr, Ben Allison and Oliver Dixon recording a combined time of  2:51.

As a major community event the Yomp is organised by the Upper Eden Rotary Club, with its partners and supporters. In addition there is great assistance from many local organisations and individuals. Special mention must be made of the Kirkby Stephen Mountain Rescue Team, who keep a very watchful eye over the Yomp, provide a communications room and a first-aid post. Cumbria Classic Coaches drive our Short Course competitors up the steep hill to Tailbridge in their vintage double-decker buses. The Scouts and Guides act as runners and general assistants. The facilities at Kirkby Stephen Grammar school are much appreciated, particularly the ever-helpful janitor, Marwood.

Our thanks to all, competitors and helpers, who once more made the Yomp a Grand day Out!