Rotary Club of Upper Eden
Sunday 3rd June 2018


Run or walk on Cumbrian Fells

23, 11.5 or 6.5 miles

Yomp Mountain Challenge 2018 - Report

Sunday 3rd June 2018 was the 35th running of the Upper Eden Yomp Mountain Challenge. Early morning weather looked very grey with low cloud on the top of the fells, however, by 10am, it had improved, with the cloud lifting and the weather dry and warm. Unfortunately, there were no records broken this year, however, the overall number of people who entered each of the three courses was up, with the biggest increase in numbers for the Half Yomp. There was a total of over 450 people who entered, people of all ages and teams from local companies.

145 competitors completed the Full Course of 23 miles. First home in 3:06:35 and winner of the Wild Boar Cup, was Jack Eyre of Eden Runners. The Swarth Fell Trophy for fastest local runner went to Graeme Stott of Howgill Harriers in 4:24:22. Fastest woman and winner of the Mallerstang Cup, was Karen Bridge of Eden Runners in 4:15:15. Winner of the Nateby Trophy for the fastest local female was Caitlin Stokes in 5:25:34. The winner of the Nine Standards Veterans over 60 cup, was Adrian Leigh of Bentham Beagles Running Club in 4:06:56. The K Shoes Shield for fastest team went to Eden Runners, their team of 3 recording a combined time of 10:11:32 (Jack Eyre, Charlie Lowther and David Dicks). Second place and winners of the Aisgill Summit Cup went to Elvet Striders.

The number of runners in the half-yomp (11.5 miles) was back up again this year, with 147 completing the course. First home and winner of the Faraday Shield trophy, was Tony Lambert of Richmond and Zetland Harriers, in a time of 1:29:10. The Nine Standards Trophy for fastest female went to Heather Catherine Marsh, in a time of 1:59:09. The Fletcher Hill Trophy for fastest over-60 veteran went to David Keetley of Howgill Harriers in 2:24:47. The under 16 awards went to William Durkin in 2:03:16 for The Tailbridge Trophy. Grace Wells of Team Marshmallow won the Dalefoot Trophy for fastest under 16 female, in 2:29:21. The Kirkby Stephen Trophy for fastest team went to the Howgill Harriers trio of Brian Pennington, Robert Crawford and Isaac Robinson in a combined time of 5:26:02. Overall male winner of the Short course (6.5 mile Yomp), was Matthew Lambert of Richmond & Zetland Harriers in 00:45:29. Matthew also was the winner in the male under 16 age group. In the male under 12 group, the winner was Zak Allison pf Kirkby Stephen Primary School in 1:06:16. As all competitors under 16 have to be accompanied by an adult, Alan Barr, Kirkby Stephen manager of sponsors JT Atkinson, again entered the short yomp twice so could individually accompany each of his sons, Alistair and Liam. Fastest female was Hillary Deighton in 1:11:42. Fastest female under sixteen was Jessica Tarwell in 1:21:44 and fastest under-12 girl was Jessica Sansom of Howgill Harriers in 1:14:44. Team prize and winners of the Pendragon Cup for the Short Yomp went to Kirkby Stephen Primary School with their combined winning time of 3:31:51.

Again, there was terrific support from pupils at the local primary schools, with many of the pupils from Brough Primary School running to raise funds, through individual sponsorship, for new computer equipment.

The Yomp is organised by the Upper Eden Rotary club and the main charity supported this year is the "National Rheumatoid Arthritis Society", along with other nominated charities. Our thanks go to our main sponsor, Kirkby Stephen builder's merchant JT Atkinson and their local manager Alan Barr. In addition, there is great assistance from many local organisations and individuals; Kirkby Stephen Mountain Rescue Team, who keep a very watchful eye over the Yomp and provide a communications room and a first-aid post. Cumbria Classic Coaches, who drive the Short Course competitors up the steep hill to Tailbridge in their vintage double-decker buses. The Scouts and Guides, as runners and general assistants. The Kirkby Stephen Grammar School facilities plus the help given by the ever-helpful Site Manager; Marwood Dent. Thank you to all competitors and helpers, who again made the Yomp the Grand day out it is, it's now time to start planning for 2019.